Alisa

  • Title: Alisa
  • Artist: Monica Lee
  • Date: August 29th, 2014
  • Material: Graphite on paper
  • Size: 27 X 27cm
  • Malaysian artist Monica Lee draws amazingly photo-realistic images with graphite pencils. She states: “I like to challenge myself with complex portraits especially people with freckles or beard. And I’m addicted to details. I like drawing in as much details as I can into my work.” Surprisingly, Lee worked in the digital world for 12 years before making the jump to illustration. But it certainly doesn’t show. She now spends 3-4 weeks on a single drawing. The artist attributes her love for hyperrealism to her father, who worked in the field of photography.
  • This sketch, is a very derailed portrait of a young girl. The use of graphite and shading is incredible in this image
  • I have chosen this image because I love the details and a sketch is a very creative way to show that. The lack of color interests me as it still looks extremely realistic. A lot of her other work is very good as well, but If I had to chose one, it would be this one. to chose such a simple and accessible medium and than create such an amazing finished product is a true talent.
  • References:
  • http://instagram.com/zephyrxavier
  • http://www.thisiscolossal.com/2014/07/stunning-photo-realistic-graphite-drawings-by-monica-lee/
Leave a Reply

